You are here

The club's first Premiership winning A Grade side, then known as Seniors Grade


The Brothers organisation as a sporting identity was first established in Brisbane in 1919 by the Christian Brothers as an outlet for students at Christian Brothers and Catholic Schools, in a culture that was built of RESPECT – COMPASSION – COMMITMENT and COMMUNITY. This association first bore the term 'Fish Eaters' and later 'Fish' for the clubs roots as a catholic club and the tradition of eating fish on Friday's.

The colours chosen by the Brothers club were blue and white Butchers Stripes – that today are the team colour of the majority of Brothers Rugby League Football Clubs.

Brothers Clubs were formed in other centres in later years with Rockhampton Brothers 1920  – Ipswich Brothers 1920 – Townsville Brothers 1922 – Cairns Brothers 1926 – Toowoomba Brothers (also known as All Whites for a period) 1942 – Bundaberg Past Brothers 1947 – Darwin Brothers 1958.

The Brothers Confraternity now boasts 35 Junior and Senior clubs around the country.


Formed in 1926, Past Brothers played their early years at many varied sites in the Cairns area including Cairns Showgrounds at Parramatta Park and the Cairns Cycledrome at Manunda. With most players having attended st Augustine's College, the club played its first Grand Final in 1929 when it was defeated 11-8 by Trinities. Redemption was swift though with 1st past the post premierships achieved in 1930 and again in 1932.
Past Brothers continued to compete in the CDRL until the break out of World War II saw the suspension of the competition.


A fallout between the club and the governing body of the CDRL saw the club admonsihed for several seasons before being readmitted to the competition under the moniker 'Marist Brothers'. The club again was immediately successful, taking out several premierships between 1946 and 1953, winning 4 and losing 2 Grand Finals.


Another name change saw Brothers in its current state and a return to the Butchers Stripes for which the club is known.
in a strong period on and off field for the club, Brothers have established the thriving Brothers Leagues Club and most importantly secured and developed their own home grounds at Stan Williams Park. Previously a Cairns City Council dump, the lease was secured in the early 1980's and now boasts 3 full sized fields, a mini field, and a clubhouse which boasts a hall, canteen and bar faciltities, gym and dressing sheds. The facility was officially opened in the 1983 to rapturous applause when named after club legend Stan Williams.


In addition to the securing of the Stan Williams Park facilities, the '80's brought about a new era of success for the proud club. Without a premiership since 1962, the club again tasted victory in 1981, defeating Atherton. A loss to Babinda the following year was flipped in '83 to earn the 'Fish Eaters' their second competition in three years. With sides featuring club legends Ian Horsfall, Chris Williams and Rosco Brown, the club was able to earn three titles whilst losing a further two in a golden period for the club.


A growing Leagues Club helped the club grow off-field, but on field results were harder to come by as the club was unable to secure a premiership trophy despite contesting three Grand Finals. 1995 saw the first year's tenure of Bob Mulley as President, a reign that would ontinue to his resignation at the end of the 2014 season - an incredible 21 years at the helm.


A true golden era for the club was borne from the recruitment of player-coach Brad Arthur. With eight seasons at the club, Brad was able to turn the club into a true powerhouse of th CDRL, earning the club four titles in six grand final appearances between 1999 and 2007 before being lured south to the Melbourne Storm along with Adam O'Brien.

Eric Smith, having played under Arthur took the reins and picked up where Brad left off, winning the '08, '09, '11 titles. The 2009 Grand Final win was especially rewarding considering the Atherton opposition contained Dally M Medal winning NRL star Todd Carney. Eric has since taken roles with Easts Tigers and is now with the Melbourne Storm.

Robbie Swain has been a mainstay of the club under Eric Smith and on Smith's departure took over Captain/Coach duties, and was able to deliver a premiership in a dominant first season in 2012. The 46-20 victory over Innisfail Leprechauns reflecting a season which saw the club lose only one match - a one point loss to Suburbs.


The Under 20's side, known as Junior Grade, won consecutive premierships from 1930-34

The victorius 1950 Juniors (Under 20's) team